The Break, the Stone, and the Paper

If you didn’t notice, I took a vacation last week.

I didn’t go anywhere, but I did take a break from the blog. It has been a nutty couple of weeks recently, and I honestly reached a point where I needed to put something on pause. I thought that a respite from the site would be the most appropriate thing.

I learned a couple things from this. The first is, even though I committed personally to posting twice a week every week, no one is holding a gun to my head. Just like anything else, it’s okay to take a break from time to time; it can even be beneficial. I also learned that I truly care about this blog, as not a day went by that I didn’t think about it, want to check on it, want to write something and put it up.

Anyway, I am now back to regularly-scheduled programming. I feel like I am getting caught up again, and I don’t feel as if I would have to take time away from my family in order to write and post things here.

I have a new poem I would like to share with you. I wrote it while I was “away.”

Enjoy, and please share with your family and friends.

***

***

The Stone and the Paper

Cradled in the hum of a warm afternoon,
sunlight bounds silently off the walls;
my son and I rest heavily on the couch.

He breathes deeply and stirs, burying his face in my chest;
licking his lips twice, he settles, grows still again.

He is a small stone and I am a sheet of paper
being held in place
in an airy, open-windowed room.

Michael Hylton, St. Louis, 2011

One response to “The Break, the Stone, and the Paper

You must be logged in to post a comment.