Decisions, Decisions

It has been a pretty tough few weeks lately. I have a lot going on, and it is taking me a while to adjust to the school year and having two kids. I also have a few extra commitments when it comes to work, and all of this is adding up to a lot less time in the day.

I have been trying to prioritize my activities, and in many cases, I am having to let go of things.

I want to continue spending time every day reading, and I want to spend time with my kids. I want to be really good at my job. I want to write less volume and more quality. I have daily and weekly engagements, such as preparing lessons, grading, laundry, walking dogs, and church activities. Many of these things are non-negotiable.

With all of this being said, I have decided that I must put [Poor Scribbler] on a brief hiatus. It isn’t that I don’t love writing; it’s that managing this site and committing to twice weekly posts has become either a source of stress or a source of neglect in my life, neither of which satisfy me. The way I see it, if I don’t commit to regular posting, or if I tell myself I will post only when I feel like it, I won’t. I feel it is better that, for the time being, I set it aside all together.

I do not intend for this to be a permanent break. The fact that I am writing this will, I hope, serve as a testimony to the fact that I am committed to this blog. I didn’t want to just stop writing and hope nobody noticed.

Perhaps by sometime in October I will be feeling normal again. Perhaps I will have once again found a nice rhythm in my day-to-day pursuits. I hope so.

For now, if you will keep me in your prayers, I would greatly appreciate it. Soon, I hope to meet you here again.

2 responses to “Decisions, Decisions

You must be logged in to post a comment.